Week Ten – Overview

A little late posting this (2 days late) so I’ll just recap what’s been going on.

I finished the chapter on Digital Storytelling Techniques. Amongst countless web research I got a few of books to help me with this from the library.

Vineyard, Jeremy. (2008). Setting Up Your Shots: Great Camera Moves Every Filmmaker Should Know (2nd Edition). California: McNaughton & Gunn.

Block, Bruce. (2008). The Visual Story: Creating the Visual Structure of Film, TV and Digital Media (2nd Edition). Burlington, MA: Focal Press.

Fabe, Marilyn. (2004). Closely Watched Films: An Introduction to the Art of Narrative Film Technique. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press

To be honest the first one was by far superior to the rest and was invaluable to what I was specifically writing about.

There’s less than a week until I have to hand this up so it’s all engines go this week! Believe it or not I have only now got around to writing the chapter on filming stop motion. I felt it nessecary to nail down the chapters on photography, animation principles etc before I got to this. A sort of crawl before you can walk plan if you will.

I’ve begun to get in touch with animators and will continue to do so over the coming weeks. I will inform them of what I am trying to achieve with my animation and that I would like their insight on various aspects of stop motion. Thankfully my research does not hinge on me being able to get interviews but hopefully I will manage to get a few replies.

I have not been blessed with the luxury of being able to focus 100% on this project as I have 2 other demanding projects so I have divided up my hours over the coming week. I aim to finish the chapters by Thursday. Then I will proceed to tidy up references, the bibliography, and insert pictures. There is still an introduction to write and a small paragraph that will follow each chapter that details how it relates to the final deliverable. It’s quite a lot to do in a few days. But it doesn’t stop there. I also want to get a rough story together and some storyboard ideas to submit with my literature review.

I aim to have it proofread before I print it as well.

It’s a busy week ahead so I will not waste anymore time blogging and get back to it! Next task is to try and look for the anthropomorphic qualities in this fella…

I may have to remove a few features as I can see eyes and a nose but the mouth might need to be made more obvious. Lighting will definitely be key to bringing these features out. Here’s a quick Photoshop lighting experiment…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

