Supervisor Meeting 01/03/11 (Shooting Schedule #1)

I met with Richard today as it had been a couple of weeks since our last meeting and quite a lot has happened since then. I explained where I was at and how I was getting on. I also confessed that I am almost certain that I will not be able to complete the project to my high standard by the submission date (in about 4 weeks). I plan on working on this project as soon as I finish uni as I feel really close to it and in my head I have things that I would like to spend time on getting right (I want to score a piece of music for example). These things are peripheral though and Richard suggested that I stick to the guidelines that I created in the Learning Contract way back when.

this takes a bit of pressure off as I don’t think it’s humanly possible to finish this shoot, edit it, add the sound effects, score the music, re-address my literary review, write a report on the animation and critically reflect upon it, do user evaluations and other stuff I’m probably forgetting about.

In light of this I have decided that I’m not fooling anyone but myself with the old schedule so out with the old and in with the new! Here’s a more realistic schedule for the shoot at least…

Overview of schedule

Page 1

Page 2

PAge 3

I’m not sure why I numbered the pages 1 of 6. I have no clue how many pages there will be. Maybe I’m going slightly mad. I’ve noticed that spending all day in this room is taking its toll on my health. I try and get out for a run in the evenings and as of a few days ago I realised that I’m listing to one side as I run, almost to the point where I lose my balance! This is slightly worrying. I’m developing some aches and pains in my back and abdomen which I’m going to attribute to the repetitive actions I’m performing hundreds of times in a row. I’m also getting headaches and I’m going to notch this one up to my field of vision rarely being greater than a distance of three feet. My advice to myself would to take a day or two off and rest. My reply to him would not be so kind. My recommendation to both of them would be that we only have a few weeks left so make nice and let’s get on with it. I think I’ll keep the ‘hospital’ bed at hand for when I finish this project.

I took a trip down to Amnesty Scotland yesterday (they’re not far from me, which is why I could afford the time) where I picked up three HUGE cork noticeboards (to be fair two are HUGE, the other one is just very large) They were giving them away for free on of the freebie sites online and I though they would be perfect for organising my storyboards and sequences. I’m finding it hard to keep track of them all. When they advertised three ‘big’ noticeboards I expected, like you, that they would be your average big notice board. What I received was much bigger. Industrial-sized I would like to think. Two more of these and could probably fashion some sort of garden shed. I struggled home with them balanced on the pedal of my bike. But I can see them coming in great use. They didn’t include any thumbtack though, which would have been nice…

"Aw look, he thinks he's 'The Wire'"

 

    • Richard Hetherington
    • March 1st, 2011

    Now the difficult shots are out of the way you will hopefully gain some momentum to finish off the project. You need to be open and honest with yourself about what is now realistically deliverable. You have gained a lot of experience in the time taken to set up shots, lighting etc and then doing the movements so this knowledge can be used to modify the timeline of the final phase of your project. re-examine the gantt chart and modify appropriately. Be brutally honest with yourself in what you are able to deliver and consider a set of possible scenarios: Do you deliver a final piece with all the visual refinement you wanted and a first pass at the sound design, or are there other possibilities?
    Remember to allow time in your project for any revision of edit software, and there is the evaluation phase that the module requires.
    Re-examine the original learning contract – because the bottom line is you need to deliver what you originally promised. Refinement can come later for the portfolio if it needs to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

