..and we’re off!

Things were going well until I realised that not only do I have two weeks left to edit the animation, do the sounds for it, create and carry out a user evaluation etc, now I have to have design an A1 poster for the presentation of the final deliverable on the 30th. The workload is getting a bit ridiculous.

I decided to opt for a linear-based workflow based on the scenes in the animation. For example I am starting with the first shot which is a pan of the foot of the bed, and I am colour grading it in Bridge and as there are no more edits to make I then import it directly into the After Effects file. I will progress from scene to scene like this and make the necessary adjustments until all the files are loaded into the AE file. Then I will begin the animation.

I’ve decided to work with the JPGs that I shot alongside the RAW files. This is mainly because of the time constraints that I am under (2 weeks left!) and also I’m not sure my laptop is strong enough for that workload. The JPGs were shot in Large so they should be perfect for a 1080p resolution.

When exporting from Bridge CS5, I have set the options so that there is no compression occurring. Initially I had elected to constrain the exported images to 1080p but I have decided that I want the images to retain their maximum quality until the final stage when I export the animation from After Effects. When doing this in Bridge, I noticed a glitch with the export options whereby it would default the Image Quality to 8 out of a possible value of 12. This makes a huge difference in quality, especially at this stage of the process. After some searching online I found a quite straightforward solution which required me to edit the .XML data of the Edit Preset I had created. I manually entered the value of 12 and this has solved the problem.

Using XML values to change the Image Quality in Bridge CS5

    • Richard Hetherington
    • March 15th, 2011

    Supervisor’s Comments

    I understand you cancelling today’s meeting in order to prioritise the editing.

    Its important now not be distracted and to focus on completing the dissertation as a whole.

    You need to plan the evaluation carefully: What do you want to find out? Who do you intend finding it out from? How will you record and collect the information? I do have text books on evaluation that will help you create a framework for this, though they are more based upon task driven applications. I do have some generic questions that could be used for capturing the user experience. All of this should help.

    I think you need to ask questions around the themes of:
    The storytelling. Was it understood? Did it make sense? Where the key “beats” of the story understood and appreciated by the audience. What elements worked well, not-so-well, these can include editing, camera work, characterisation etc.
    The characters: What elements of the movie made the character “come to life?”, what elements were not so successful? This could relate to the character’s movement, the way they have been realised visually (do viewers see the eyes?), and I think sound will have an increasingly important role in this respect.
    You also need to capture the demographic of the people who you tested, so you can answer the question “who do these results apply to?”
    How will you collect and analyse the data? There are many different ways, each with their pros and cons.
    It is important to do this well, as I believe much can be learned from the feedback you collect. Then of course there is your own evaluation of the product and process itself. Much of this is apparent in the blog, and this will be an excellent starting point for this exercise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

