Exile on Frame St.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! The only difference between today and every other day is there is more noise outside the window than usual. I know that this dissertation is more important than a night out and the like but when a global (??) day of celebration and merriment is going on right outside my window and I can’t join in, it is indeed vexing.

Anyway. Today I bulldozed through a lot of the shots (not the alcoholic sort) and have currently fed close to a minute and a half of footage into the After Effects session. I’m getting faster as I’m getting accustomed with using Camera RAW and I know how to quickly edit the shots to get the look I want. Controversially, I have started working with RAW files. I had a niggling doubt in my head that I would rue not using the best quality shots so I made the change. I won’t have time to go back to the other JPGs and swap in the RAW files but hopefully there won’t be a noticeable difference in quality.

Things were going swimmingly until I hit the scene where the EKG monitor increases in speed. When I originally shot the EKG scenes I knew I could edit out the paper overhang in post production using a Photoshop mask or something because the camera would remain in the same place.. What I forgot about was that in this shot the focus pulls from the patient in the foreground to the monitor in the background. Each frame is going to have a slightly different focus so I can’t simply paste a ‘clean’ monitor frame over the live footage to hide the paper. This had to be done on a frame-by-frame basis.

Frame 10/102 - Shallow DOF with patient in focus

Frame 101/102 - Monitor in focus. the frames in between display the monitor with a slightly different focus making it hard to batch edit

Result

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

